Latest paper published in Computer Physics Communications 50th anniversary special edition

David, Dermot and Gleb have published a paper and computer code in the 50th anniversary special edition of Computer Physics Communication. The code solves the Hartree-Fock equations in a B-spline basis for atoms and arbitrary central potentials (relevant for finite particle approximations to the electron gas).

The paper can be accessed here.

Dermot gives talk at local school

Dermot returned to his former school Belfast Royal Academy (and to his old classroom!), to talk to a selection of 5th and 6th year students about his research in antimatter-matter interactions and his career path in physics. He was accompanied by PhD student Hannah McAleese, who discussed her research in quantum information theory. We hope the pupils enjoyed our visit as much as us, and hope to see them at Queen’s soon!


Jaroslav Hofierka joins the group as PhD student

Jaroslav Hofierka joins the group as a PhD student. Jaroslav obtained a BSc in Physics and Masters degrees in Theoretical physics at the Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic. Jaroslav will be putting his diverse expertise in theoretical physics to use developing ab initio methods for positron-molecule interactions, as well as more general computational methodologies for diagrammatic many-body theory. Welcome Jaro to Belfast, and to the group!

Dr Charlie Rawlins joins the group as a Research Fellow

Dr Charlie Rawlins joins the group as a Postdoctoral Research Fellow funded by the ANTI-ATOM ERC grant.

Charlie graduate BSc in nanotechnology and his PhD (2019) in theoretical physics from Curtin University, Perth, Australia. His PhD in the theoretical physics group of Igor Bray, Alisher Kadyrov and Dmitri Fursa concerned calculations of positron and positronium scattering on atoms with a focus on anti-hydrogen formation. He has expertise in theoretical atomic physics and positronium.

Welcome Charlie, to Belfast and to the group!


Dermot awarded 2019 Institute of Physics Sir David Bates Prize

The Bates Prize is awarded biennially to an early-career researcher (within the first 12 years of a research career) for outstanding research in quantum, atomic and molecular, or plasma physics to commemorate Sir David Bates FRS, a towering figure of atomic and molecular physics.

Dermot received the 2019 Bates Prize chiefly for his development of many-body-theory and computational approaches for low-energy positron scattering and annihilation in atoms. For full details see the Institute of Physics (click here) website.

The prize included a commemorative plaque, which was presented to Dermot by Prof Ed Hinds FRS at the 2019 International Conference in Quantum, Atomic and Molecular Physics (QuAMP), where Dermot gave the invited Bates prize talk.

[Full details can be found on the IOP webpage, Story also on QUB website].