Welcome new PhD students

Last updated May 30, 2017 by Andrew Brown

CTAMOP is delighted to welcome the new cohort of PhD students to the centre.

Daniel Clarke is funded by the EPSRC to study intense-laser-atom interactions with Prof. Hugo van der Hart. Adam Hewgill will work with Dr. Gabriele De Chiara on many-body physics and non-locality.

Two students are funded by the Department for the Economy (Formerly the Department for Employment and Learning NI): Ryan Smyth will tackle atomic physics processes of astrophysical interest with Dr. Connor Ballance; and David Waide will join Drs. Gleb Gribakin and Dermot Green to study postiron physics.


We are a Research Cluster of the School of Mathematics and Physics at Queen’s University Belfast in Northern Ireland. Our research interests are focused primarily on computational and theoretical physics.

Old Physics Building

The Old Physics Building,
where CTAMOP is situated.